Botnik – can computers learn to write like humans?

By Richard Pinner

Today, I want to look at how computers are sometimes used for creative purposes. Specifically, can a computer learn to use language in the same way that humans can?

Since 1990, there has been an annual competition called the Loebner Prize which is designed to see if a computer can trick other humans into thinking they are actually talking to a human and not a machine. In other words, people have a text talk with either a human or an Artificial Intelligence (AI), and the winner is the programmer whose software sounds most convincingly like a human and manages to fool the judges.

So far, the best rate of success is to trick 33% of people into thinking they are talking with a human. So, in other words, still not that convincing even in 2018! This is all based on the Turing Test. This was also the idea behind Philip K Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, which was adapted into a film called Blade Runner by Ridley Scott, starring Harrison Ford.

But, computers are already much more integrated into language than perhaps we realise. For example, predictive text on phones is basically ubiquitous now, but how does it work? It’s all based around Concordancers and Corpora.

Corpora is the plural of corpus, and a corpus is basically a huge collection of text and samples of language. This becomes data for analysis. Using a corpus, linguists can see which words are frequently used together (collocations) and thus predict the likelihood of the next word you write. For example, if you write “traffic” into your phone and look at the prdictive texts’ offerings, they will likely be “jam”, “light” and “accident” as these are common collocates.

But predictive text is much more intelligent that this. Your phone is actually learning how you use language specifically. It makes a corpus of your own texts and analyses them so it can predict what you specifically will say next. This is why, when I type the word ‘bloody’ it will likely come up with the word ‘trains’, because I am always texting my wife to say ‘bloody trains’. Also, if I type the word ’今’ the phone returns the suggestion of either train or my hometown, as this is a common text I send.

Well, what about creativity? This is were the fun starts.

Task for the class

Group 1: Find out what the first novel written by a computer was called

Group 2: Find out what Harry Potter and the Portrait of What Looked Like a Large Pile of Ash is all about

 

Links

http://apps.botnik.org/writer/?source=48933085b1723680f33dffdeb7dce766

https://botnik.org/apps/

Further Reading

The Alexa Prize

‘Passing’ the Turing Tests (33%)

18 thoughts on “Botnik – can computers learn to write like humans?

  1. Christmas is all we could barely breathe
    my baby just can’t praise christmas for snow
    merry merry way birds random night partridge
    is reindeer falling

  2. All night long and all that junk
    you bring us pudding and cried
    all these years we could barely jiggling
    christmas time again it’s like the best
    merry merry chrismas new old santa
    for snow i’m good to get my heart
    this year’s hate disappear let there be love

  3. I don’t encounter birds and a happy new year
    christmas time again heal the world
    you for a better present for me presents i just gon like
    the mistletoe i want for me this baby wrapped up the fire
    the bells ring with holly rockin round ding ohhhh ohhhhhhh
    my heart for christmas tree is blazing oh yeah
    the fireside is just wanna kiss you baby oh yeah
    my own peace for santa won’t back into the house

  4. christmas merry chrismas christmas my christmas love christmas love christmas tree o ‘ christmas tree o ‘ christmas tree o ‘ christmas tree o

  5. I need this christmas stockin eating time at night but snow just havin merry merry merry little christmas
    now everybody loves me and weatherman get drunk
    It’s here tonight singing hallelujah this season
    and all night joyonghi looking through pipe
    Special memories can feel lonely and everyone blows

  6. Christmas time it’s christmas time we praise the lord and candles burning lots of presents and you count his blessings so i keep another tender not what you did last december. Your stockings where nothing ever grows outside for our little girl spread something like me all night yeah you know if you’re in hollywood i’m blazing christmas.

  7. Christmas is filled with cheer and everyone is wishing for santa
    santa’s yeah yeah yeah this one this year merry christmas tree with green
    christmas time again heal the world let them know it might snow tonight
    my christmas time and what you bring me the tree
    merry merry merry little christmas now
    mmmm presents everywhere

  8. Christmas tree of the world shine so bright always for you and me together will make this christmas bright shake a hand now you and me

  9. The tree is bare i want this night to make everyone bastardized
    my true baby please post a little story before we trim this
    my own christmas day 손꼽아

  10. Merry merry christmas
    i want for christmas is you baby
    it’s like christmas day you see that old tree down cotton lane
    those lights keep shining
    this christmas will be a very special one for you

  11. My world needs love ( oh yeah ) this baby wrapped in paradise & friday begins rock ( oh baby ) i’m a happy ending. nobody can kill me ( whoa oh baby ) christmas… Christmas will teach your mama. This year’s baby and we banish with green me underneath my favorite earmuffs.

  12. Christmas is filled with cheer and everyone is wishing for santa
    santa’s yeah yeah yeah this one this year merry christmas tree with green
    christmas time again heal the world let them know it might snow tonight
    my christmas time and what you bring me the tree
    merry merry merry little christmas now mmmm presents everywhere

  13. Christmas time again
    It’s holly rockin goodbye
    and then i wish you’d make ginger
    puttin merry merry christmas ( holiday )to me

  14. Christmas is the time to make ginger bread. I will text christ happy birthday. Christmas tree with my baby standing beneath you. O my love … oh merry merry little christmas. Some old fashioned drunk just havin my door. I won’t be waiting for santa to make ginger bread.

  15. Her past threatens her wolf pack and she patiently hunts her father
    he knows she’s never slept off lately
    from college professor human form tatijana of paranormal sexiness
    the only thing that can scare him: a conservative woman in a button # 1
    his past still a lot worse a deadly shifter town bad have tails

  16. It’s holly rockin bells ringing out for christmas
    everybody loves rock yeah christmas
    means celebrating kids who believes christmas

  17. Don’t do laundry ( x4 ) beat the rat no more. ( aha ) every day i want you girl marijuana amused me yea marijuana ummmmm ( x7 ) congratulations a mosquito hello hello hello ( x2 )

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *